Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

Taco Stuffed Baked Potato

Leave a comment

I love tacos! I love baked potatoes! Ever find that one day when you don’t have enough leftover taco meat to feed everyone but you have the potatoes? That was me today! So, Don brought up the loaded baked potatoes that we had at the BBQ Fest last fall in Paducah. They were HUGE! I bet they weighed about 3-5 pounds each by the time they were loaded with everything.

So, I made my fresh salsa (cilantro, onions and tomatoes) rounded up the shredded Colby-Jack cheese, sour cream, White Cheddar Mexican cheese dip (served warm of course), the taco meat and the prepared potatoes.

I liked to take a spoon and carefully round out the potato from the skin then fluff it out a bit with a fork before adding all my ingredients; I don’t know why, I am just strange that way. I sprinkled on a layer of Colby-Jack followed by the taco meat, then fresh salsa and drizzled the warm white cheddar over the potato topping it off with a dollop of sour cream.

Who needs a taco shell! We didn’t use as much meat because we were using it as a topping for the potato; so it went farther. The potato gave us more to eat and with a large baked potato; it was not easy to finish this off!

Add whatever ingredients you add to your taco and enjoy!

Leave a comment