Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

Low-Country Boil

Leave a comment

DSCN9087-001

Low-Country Boil

This recipe was taken from Food Network June 2013 magazine. I altered a couple of things to make it work with what I had and what I found at the market.
It wasn’t bad; needed salt before service and could have used some crab or mussels for added flavor.

Note that I cut the recipe down by .75

Below is the actual recipe and what I altered is in bold and italics.

 

½ cup concentrated Louisiana-style shrimp and crab boil seasoning (I used a 4oz. sachet of shrimp boil seasoning)

4 pounds medium red potatoes (All I had were large so I did cut them in to halves)

2-3 medium sweet onions; peeled and quartered

2 ½ pounds cured, smoked pork sausage links, cut into 3 inch pieces (I used smoked sausage like polish sausage)

8 ears of corn, cut in half (I cut my corn into thirds)

4 pounds of medium raw shrimp

 

  1. Fill a 7-gallon stockpot halfway with water (or use 2 pots and divide ingredients equally). Add the seasoning and bring to a rolling boil. Add the whole potatoes to the pot. Allow water to return to a boil and cook for 5 minutes. Add the onions and sausage. Bring  to a boil and cook for 15 minutes. Add the corn, return to a boil and cook or 10 minutes or until potatoes are done.
  2. Add the shrimp, bring the water back to a boil and cook until the shrimp turn pink, about 3-5 minutes. Drain through a colander; discard the liquid. Serve on newspapers or platter.

 

Inner Chef Notes: This makes quite a bit; I divided the recipe by ¾ and still had so much food. I used 1 pound of medium shrimp in my recipe and that was plenty…maybe too much.

Don’t forget to peel your shrimp before you eat them….I should have told Don this earlier…

Photo: Food Network

Photo: Food Network

Leave a Reply

