Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

A Minute on Monday…In the Attic

1 Comment

Don and I finally cleaned out the attic yesterday and I found some treasures; some were of monetary value but the best were the items passed down or things from my childhood, items from the kids.

I found photos upon photos, books, a couple of warped Beattles LP’s, and I found that the kids have more up in the attic than Don and I do.

The Joy of Cooking cookbook is from 1946 copy of the original 1931 print. This book had apparently belonged to Don’s grandmother. Inside are hand-written recipes tucked here and there between the worn pages and also in the back are several pages of hand-written recipes; also from his grandmother.

The Rudolph bowl is a bowl I had when I was about 5 or 6. I remember there being a matching plate and cup…have no idea where those flew off to.

The coffee mug was a Mother’s Day gift from Kasi and Tony when they were oh so young.

The green relish dish belonged to my Grandma; tucked inside the dish were 2 recipes (I about cried).

I enjoyed remembering the past and then going through the cookbook, excited to try some new recipes…old school.

Just goes to show; that you never know what is packed up and stored away (especially if you only go through your attic once every 10 or so years) and what amazing memories those items hold.

I found photos upon photos, books, a couple of warped Beattles LP’s, and I found that the kids have more up in the attic than Don and I do.

DSCN9633 DSCN9637 DSCN9626

DSCN9630 DSCN9631

DSCN9627DSCN9628

One thought on “A Minute on Monday…In the Attic

  1. You were right!! Some of us were very interested in your “treasures” from the attic, especially the cookbook.

Leave a Reply

