Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

Review for: “The Flying Cupcake” -Indianapolis, Indiana

Leave a comment

For those who know me; they know how I feel about cupcakes. For those that don’t know me; I LOVE CUPCAKES!

Indianapolis has a cupcake shop called “The Flying Cupcake”. Recently, they have been taking their cupcake truck out to local areas such as the Greenwood Mall on the weekends. Today, I thought I would pick up a couple of their cupcakes.

First of all; let me be fair and say that “The Flying Cupcake” has been named one of the nation’s 50 Best Cupcake bakeries and voted the Best Cupcakes in Indianapolis.

I went on my daughter, Kasi’s choice and picked up a “Black Bottom Cupcake” along with a choice of my own; a Raspberry Swirl Cupcake.

I didn’t eat these immediately…maybe I should have….

The longer the “Black Bottom” cupcake sat; the more it sunk to the bottom of the cake. “Black Bottom” cupcake is a chocolate cupcake with a cheesecake center/top.  The chocolate cake was moist with the perfect amount of sweetness and richness. The cheesecake on the other hand…

The cheesecake had such a sour taste that I found it difficult to swallow.

I give this one a 2 (on a scale of 1-5; 5 being outstanding). I would not purchase it again.

 

The other cupcake; white cake with raspberry swirls and a butter cream icing was very wet; not moist, but wet! The raspberry swirls were tasty and the cake itself had a great flavor. The butter cream icing was extremely sweet…too sweet for me.

I give this one a 3. I would not purchase it again.

“The Flying Cupcake” has many flavors, with not all flavors available everyday.

I know this cupcake bakery has its fans here in Indy, but I am sorry to say that I am not one of them.

DSCN9017  DSCN9022  DSCN9019  DSCN9026

 

Leave a Reply

