Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

Eggs: To Boil or To Bake?

Leave a comment

Eggs: To Boil or To Bake?

I decided to check out a lead I received today on Facebook concerning preparing eggs for Easter without boiling in water. This was originally found on Pampered Chef.

I took out 4 eggs (why take the possibility of ruining an entire dozen), laid them in the muffin pan as directed. I then popped them into a preheated 325° oven and waited for the 30 minute timer to go off. I then immediately rushed the “baked” eggs to an ice bath and let them sit for about 10-15 minutes (occasionally coming back to stir them around a bit).

Now, let me explain something; when I removed the eggs from the oven; there were brown spots on the shells and this had me concerned, but it did disappear while bathing in ice or wiped off clean after removing the eggs from the bath.

Pampered Chef will tell you that because of their method; the egg shells are easier to remove from the egg. Let me tell you that if you boil your eggs and them immediately turn them over to an ice bath; you will get the same effect.

As I began to remove the shells, I noticed parts of the eggs were discolored and this did not go away. Also, because the eggs were lying at one angle the entire cooking time; the yokes rested on one side of the egg. This does not make for pretty deviled eggs.

I cut open the shelled eggs and they looked great! I sampled the eggs; they tasted great!

So, in closing; if you want to just use this method to make eggs to color at Easter or to chop up in a salad…this is a nice way to go about it.

If you intend on using them later to make deviled eggs with these….boiling is best.

 

DID YOU KNOW?

The hard-boiled egg is not actually boiled but simmered? That’s right.

To make those eggs for deviled eggs to look pretty; simply put your eggs in a saucepan and add water until about 2” above the eggs. Bring to a boil and then simmer for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat, drain and add eggs to an ice bath to cool.

DSCN8995  DSCN8996  DSCN8997  DSCN8998  DSCN9003

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

