Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

Mongolian Beef

Leave a comment

My husband and I love Chinese food so it should not have been a surprise when he posted this recipe on my facebook page. I guess he wanted to make sure I got the point. It was a quick, easy and satisfying dish that I will prepare again…next time with broccoli and shredded carrots, plus a little fresh o.j. (thanks for the idea Kasi )

Now I realize that it will no longer be Mongolian Beef, but if it turns out as well as we hope…well, then…Mongolian Beef with a twist of Lee it shall be.

Mongolian Beef               Serves: 4-6

Ingredients

2 Tbsp. low-sodium soy sauce

1 tsp. sugar

1 tsp. cornstarch

2 tsp. dry sherry (I used Sherry Cooking wine; cheaper and just as good with this recipe)

2 tsp. hoisin sauce

1 tsp. rice vinegar

1 tsp. chili paste with garlic; such as sambal oelek (I used ½ tsp. due to the spiciness)

1/4 tsp. salt

2 tsp. peanut oil (Do NOT substitute; this needs a high smoke point oil)

1 Tbsp. minced peeled fresh ginger

1 Tbsp. minced fresh garlic

1 lb. sirloin steak, thinly sliced across the grain (I used flat iron steak)

16 medium green onions, cut into 2-inch pieces (do NOT use whites)

Directions

  1. Combine first 8 ingredients, stirring until smooth.
  2. Heat peanut oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add minced ginger, minced garlic, and beef; sauté for 2 minutes or until beef is browned.
  3. Add green onion pieces; sauté 30 seconds. Add soy sauce mixture; cook 1 minute or until thickened, stirring constantly.

Inner Chef Notes:

1. You would think “paste” means thick paste-like substance…not where this chili paste is concerned. I found it; in a jar in the Asian food isle…not in a tube.

2. I had no fresh ginger, nor did the stores; I did have crystalized ginger and used that. Although it was okay; it didn’t have the ginger taste this recipe is looking for. FRESH GINGER IS A MUST!

3. I served this over Thai Brown Rice Noodles…perfect!

 

Photo taken by: Kasi Blackford for Inner Chef

Photo taken by: Kasi Blackford for Inner Chef

Leave a Reply

