Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

Christmas Cookie Memory

Leave a comment

Every year when I begin baking my Christmas cookies; I always think of my Grandma Bacon. When we were little; we began our baking the weekend after Thanksgiving so that we could get them out to California and Arizona to my uncles.

We made Refrigerator Cookies, M &M Cookies, fudge, Stained Glass Window Cookies, Peanut Butter Goodies….all together there were about 8 types we made over the weekend. But the one I loved the most; the one that I was given control over (even at the age of  6); the one I was trusted with..

Butterscotch Crunchies! These are made with butterscotch chips, peanut butter, peanuts and crunchy chow mein noodles….oh the aroma, the taste…HEAVEN. I would scoop them out by tablespoon fulls onto waxed paper; one scoop for the paper, one scoop for me. I know mom and my grandma had to know what I was doing just because there were never as many cookies to be packed away as there should have been.

Looking back; that was part of the joy of it; out in the family room by myself, pretending to be on a cooking show and eating these rich, delectable cookies. And not getting in trouble for it.

I know that my Grandma can see that I keep her tradition alive with my kids and now my grandkids. I miss her dearly, but I also know….she is the one guiding me in the kitchen; everyday, through every meal and every dessert.

What is your favorite Christmas cookie memory?

halloween-haystacks-recipe relish. com

Leave a Reply

