Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

Product Review: Ghirardelli Brownie Mix

Leave a comment

GHIRARDELLI® BROWNIE MIX

Let me start out by saying that I don’t like all things Ghirardelli, truly I don’t; but when the craving hits for intense chocolate flavor, it is what I think about.

There are plenty of baked goods that I enjoy making from scratch, but there are also days when I don’t have time or even feel like being “Suzy Homemaker”.  So, combine that with needing a chocolate fix fast, I choose Ghirardelli Brownie mix.

Quick and easy, just like most mixes, adding oil, water, and an egg, pour into a pan and in minutes, the chocolaty aroma fills the entire house! There is nothing like a chewy, cake-like brownie and a glass of milk!

Ghirardelli offers 8 different varieties of brownie mix: walnut, caramel turtle, double chocolate, dark chocolate, triple chocolate, chocolate supreme, triple fudge and ultimate fudge.  (Are you getting that chocolate craving?)  Believe it or not, I am not a fan of all of them.

Chocolate is one thing, intense chocolate another, and dare I say it! TOO MUCH chocolate is not so satisfying.  The fudge style brownies are too wet for my liking.  I don’t like biting into a brownie that feels like it didn’t cook all the way through.  The caramel is the problem with this brownie.  After baking the caramel takes on a different texture than the smooth, creamy caramel you find in Ghirardelli’s candy.  I even tried swirling the caramel into the mix instead of putting it on top and I got the same results.   I prefer the walnut mix for “needing a baked good” fix and the double, dark or triple chocolate for the intense chocolate flavor (and many times I add walnuts or pecans to the mix too because one needs protein to balance those carbs!).  The triple chocolate variety has the chocolate brownie mix with 2 different kinds of chocolate chips in the mix.  No need for add-ins here, but this one is on the verge of having too much chocolate flavor.

I guess when you buy Ghirardelli brownie mixes you are paying for the name and that means they are pricey.  But you can always catch them on sale at most grocery stores and when that comes around you can snag a box for $1.50 to $1.67.  Holiday time is a good time to look for sales, but in the Flint/Lapeer area of Michigan, I have seen sales 4 to 6 times a year, just about every 2 months.  And, each box comes with a recipe for making all kinds of brownie-based desserts.

Since the mixes are readily available, I wouldn’t order them online, but www.ghirardellichocolate.com has a great section on their website called “chocopedia”.   This tells the history of chocolate, explains different varieties of chocolate and how to care for chocolate once you purchase it.  It is quite interesting and quite useful when you want to know your chocolate and eat it too.

Pick your favorite mix and give it a try.  Every bit of chocolate helps!

photo by  www.ghirardellichocolate.com

I am not being compensated by this company for this review.  It is my own opinion ~ Correen Coultas

Leave a Reply

