Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

Product Review: Grand Gourmet 12-Cup Covered Muffin Pan

Leave a comment

GRAND GOURMET 12 CUP COVERED MUFFIN PAN

I have been searching for a covered cupcake transporter for quite some time.  I know they are everywhere, but have you also noticed the price!  And many of them are just that, a carrier for cupcakes.  You can’t use it for much else.  I saw a Wilton® cupcake carrier that held 12 cupcakes or you could flip the insert and it would hold 24 mini cupcakes.  I thought that was pretty nifty but I did not like the price and I had 24 regular sized cupcakes to take to my destination.  Tupperware® had one years ago that I may still have in the far corners of my cupboards that held 24 cupcakes, but they slid around in the container, especially if you ate a couple cupcakes before transport!

I don’t have to have utensils and appliances that multitask, but it sure does make it easier on the pocketbook if they are, and they would take up less space.  So I introduce to you the Grand Gourmet 12 cup covered muffin pan.  Not only is it a cupcake carrier for 12 of your creations, it is a nonstick muffin pan too!

You can actually bake the cupcakes in the very durable carbon steel pan, let them cool and then top it with the see-through plastic lid with easy lock sides and a folding, almost locking handle.  I put my scrumptious pumpkin cupcakes (find the recipe below!) in the carrier unfrosted, only because they were enduring a several hour trip, but there is plenty of “head room” for frosted cupcakes in the carrier as well.  I actually bought 2 carriers for less than the price of the one Wilton® carrier mentioned earlier.

Twenty-two of the cupcakes made it to their destination (I had to sample the goods to see if they were worthy of the company I would be keeping!).   The carriers travel well, stack neatly on the counter and look nice too.  I did notice that even though the cupcakes were thoroughly cooled before the lid was applied, sitting overnight in the container the cupcakes were a little moist on the surface so my spiced cream cheese frosting had to be slathered on at room temperature to avoid scraping the tops right off the cakes.  The cover is not airtight so I did not think this would happen.   I will keep an eye on the handle over several uses to see if it holds up.

Price:  $7.99 each, regular price

 

I am not being compensated by this company for this review. It is my own opinion ~ Correen Coultas

 

PUMPKIN CUPCAKES

18 ¼ oz yellow cake mix (I used BC super moist and had to buy 2 boxes and measure it by weight)

1 pkg. (4 serving size) vanilla instant pudding mix

1 cup canned pumpkin

½ cup oil

½ cup water

3 eggs

1 ½ tsp. ground cinnamon

¼ tsp. ground cloves

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1. Beat all ingredients with a mixer on low speed just until moistened.  Beat on medium speed 2 minutes.  Spoon batter into 24 paper-lined muffin cups, 2/3 full each.

2. Bake in preheated 350 degree Fahrenheit oven for 20 minutes. Cool completely before frosting.

SPICED CREAM CHEESE FROSTING

1 pkg. (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened

¼ cup butter, softened

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

Pinch of ground cloves

1 box (16 oz) confectioners’ sugar (or less depending on your preference. I like the cream cheese tang so I used about ¾ of a box)

1. Beat cream cheese, butter, vanilla and spices until light and fluffy.  Gradually beat in box of confectioners’ sugar until smooth.  Frost cooled cupcakes.

2. Leftover frosting can be spread on graham crackers, used as a dip for fruit or eaten right out of the bowl!

Leave a Reply

