Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

The Chocolate Story

Leave a comment

Chocolate Story

I love chocolate, I have always loved chocolate!

When I was about 5 or 6 years-old, I had a chocolate moment that would change the way I eat chocolate for the rest of my life.

My Grandma Bacon lived next door to us and she was great in the kitchen. She always had a pantry ready to bake at all times; full of sugars, flours, extracts, and chocolates!

One summer day as I was leaving Grandma’s kitchen I noticed 6 squares wrapped in white paper; just sitting there on the counter calling my name. I peeked into one of the wrappers and there was the largest piece of chocolate this 5 year-old had ever seen!  Ever so slyly I picked one up and headed out the back door to go home. I rounded the back of Grandma’s house and opened the wrapper. It looked like chocolate; it smelled like chocolate, the only left to do is take a big bite out of it. That was the nastiest, driest piece of chocolate I had ever eaten in my short life!  I tossed the wrapper over my right shoulder into the apple tree, chucked the chocolate to the left into the lilac bushes and ran home. I drank so much water and that taste would not leave my mouth! To this day; I read very carefully before purchasing and before eating anything chocolate.

There is another lesson I learned looking back at it; stealing from Grandma always comes back to bite you in the butt!

Leave a Reply

