Inner Chef

Enjoy your kitchen, your food and your inner chef

Leftovers

Leave a comment

LEFTOVERS! I remember hearing that word growing up and it only meant one thing…RUN!

Not that my mom is a bad cook, she is great, but when there were leftovers, it meant that apparently the guests didn’t appreciate what was on the menu the night before. So, mom would do what she could to “doctor it up”; to change its taste, its texture, its visual appeal (whatever she could just to get rid of it and not let it go to waste).

When I grew up and had kids of my own; for the first time I heard my mother’s voice come from my lips; “We are having leftovers tonight!” And as she did years ago, I did then; I saw the look of horror, of sadness, of pure disappointed in my family’s eyes. It was then that I realized that there had to be some way to serve leftovers so that the family (especially the kids) wouldn’t even know what hit them.

Over the years, I looked through magazines, checked with family and friends, concocted of few bad mistakes and some great new dishes. The family grew from 2 kids to 4 and suddenly there was no need to serve leftovers…with 2 growing boys in the family, leftovers became a rare commodity.

As the kids grew up and moved away, I was left with cooking for 2 people instead of 4-6 (something I still haven’t quite figured out how to do) so leftovers have become a Wednesday night tradition in our home. I have gotten better about how to create leftovers into fantastic new meals, some even the kids will come over for.

Don’t be afraid to think outside the box when creating new meals from old ones. Be adventurous; if it doesn’t work for the family; there is always the dog.

 

5/31/2012

Leave a Reply

